Grant to power growth for Clean Energy Technology Program

Gov. Jay Inslee photo

Gov. Jay Inslee (center) speaks at the Clean Energy Technology Center on April 29, 2014, just prior to announcing the Carbon Emissions Reduction Taskforce during a press conference in the Professional Automotive Training Center at Shoreline Community College.

A leader in education and training for Washington’ solar industry, Shoreline Community College has landed a prestigious grant to enhance its role in sustainable, renewable energy.

The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), with support from the National Science Foundation, has awarded a $20,000 MentorLinks grant to be used for Shoreline’s Clean Energy Technology Program. Shoreline is one of only ten colleges in the country to receive the award.

“Renewable energy is a key component of Gov. Inslee’s economic plan and former Gov. Gregoire’s before that,” said Susan Hoyne, Shoreline’s Dean of Science, Mathematics, Manufacturing, Engineering, and Energy. “Shoreline is at the forefront of educating and training the workforce for this growing industry and this grant will increase opportunities for students.”

The two-year grant will help Hoyne and faculty member Louise Petruzzella add to the Clean Energy Technology Program, including:

  • Develop internships, job-placement services and curriculum by expanding industry and community relationships
  • Develop a certificate available either fully online or a “hybrid” of online and on-campus classes
  • Increase certificate and degree completion by improving course availability
  • Add more equipment for hands-on training
  • Foster collaboration between current students and program alumni.

The mentorship part of the grant will establish a connection between Shoreline and Ken Walz of Madison Area Technical College. Walz is Madison’s chemistry and engineering instructor and will work with Hoyne and Petruzzella on grant-related projects. Walz is the project director and principal investigator for the Career Education in Renewable Energy Technologies, a National Science Foundation program.



  • David Pinter, Director of Grants, 206-546-4717
  • Susan Hoyne, Dean of Science, Mathematics, Manufacturing, Engineering, and Energy, 206-533-6638
  • Louise Petruzzella, Clean Energy Technology Program faculty, 206-546-4567

Comments are closed.